Software Guide

Free Driving Instructor Software UK: The Five Kinds of Free (2026)

Search for free driving instructor software and you will find genuinely free tools, trials dressed up as gifts, and directories listing prices that stopped being true years ago. Here is how to tell them apart, checked against the vendors' own pages in September 2026.

Nic Hartnell · 19 September 2026 · 10 min read

Genuinely free driving instructor software does exist in the UK in 2026. PassReady is free for instructors — qualified ADIs and trainees alike — with no monthly fee, no card and no time limit. It is funded by a small booking fee paid by the pupil when they book online. ADI Network also has no monthly fee, funded by routing work from its parent company's driving-school brands to instructors, and its terms add a fee of 2% plus 30p on card payments. Beyond those two, most “free” you will meet is something else wearing the label: Total Drive is not free (from £18/month, despite what stale directories still say), several tools are free only while you train and start charging the day you qualify, and DriveSchoolPro is free only “until 31 March 2027”. The difference is never the word. It is how the software pays for itself, because software is never free to build and run. This guide sorts the kinds of “free”, names who is which as of September 2026, and lists the checks to run before you trust any of them with your diary.

The kinds of “free”

TypeWhat it really meansThe catch2026 example
Free trialPaid software, free for a limited timeYou are billed monthly once the trial endsTotal Drive, MyDriveTime, DriveInstruct, Passly, LessonBuddy, GoRoadie Pro (14–60 day trials)
Free while you trainFree for trainee PDIs, then a monthly subscription once you qualifyThe free access ends when you qualify or the time runs out, just as you go full-timeThe PDI offers of Total Drive, MyDriveTime, GoRoadie, DriveInstruct and LessonBuddy
FreemiumA limited free tier, paid plans above itThe features you actually need sit behind the paywallDriveInstruct (a bare listing if your subscription lapses)
Free for nowFree during a launch or early-access windowAn end date, after which pricing is whatever they decideDriveSchoolPro (“free until 31 March 2027”)
Free (lead-routed)Free because the company earns from work it routes to youThe margin on routed work is not published, and its terms add a fee of 2% plus 30p on payments taken through the app (checked September 2026)ADI Network
Free with a pupil-paid feeNo subscription, no pupil limit and no end date; a small fee is added when a pupil books online, paid by the pupil. Cash lessons are recorded freeThe pupil pays slightly more than the lesson price when booking onlinePassReady

The first three are paid software in different stages of undress. The last two have no monthly fee for the instructor, indefinitely, but neither makes card payments free: ADI Network's terms take 2% plus 30p a payment, and PassReady adds a published booking fee that the pupil pays. The honest way to choose between them is to understand exactly how each one funds itself.

The test for genuinely free software: can you run your whole business on it, indefinitely, without hitting a wall that demands a monthly payment? If yes, it is free. If a core feature is fenced off or a trial clock is ticking, it is paid software wearing a free label.

Who is actually free in September 2026?

PassReady — free, with a published funding model

PassReady is £0/month for instructors with every feature included: booking page, online payments, DVSA progress tracking, reminders, expense and mileage records, gift cards, waiting lists. There is no premium tier and no trial. It is funded by a booking fee added on top of the lesson price and paid by the pupil when they book online. The fee is PassReady's 4.2% plus the card processing, with the pupil's total rounded up to the next whole pound: on a £40 lesson the pupil pays £43 and the instructor receives £40.23 — their full price plus a little more. (So the roughly £3 the pupil adds is the 4.2% fee plus card processing, not 4.2% alone.) Cash and off-platform lessons go in the same diary, with the same reminders and records, and are free forever. There is no limit on pupils and no end date. The model is published in full. You can check the maths on any lesson price before you commit.

ADI Network — free, funded by lead-routing

ADI Network's app has no monthly fee for instructors. It is built by Star Genie Ltd, the company behind driving-school brands including PassMeFast, and it funds itself by routing pupils from those brands to instructors on the app. That is a real model, but the price is the part you cannot see: we did not find the margin taken on routed work published (September 2026), so you cannot check what a supplied pupil actually costs you in forgone rate. Its terms also list a non-refundable fee of 2% of the transaction amount plus £0.30 on payments taken through the platform. A published per-booking fee, by contrast, can be checked against any lesson price before you commit.

The rest: read the label carefully

Total Drive appears on several instructor directories as free; its own pricing page lists plans from £18/month, with online booking from the £23 Ultimate plan (checked September 2026). DriveInstruct starts every qualified instructor on its £10-a-month Pro plan after a 30-day free trial; its free tier is a bare listing you drop to if the subscription lapses, and its card payments carry a 2% platform fee. DriveSchoolPro is free as an early-access promotion with a stated end date of 31 March 2027, and says its pricing will be announced before 1 April 2027. Passly (£14.99 a month) and LessonBuddy (£9.99 a month) are subscriptions with 14-day and 60-day free trials. None of this makes them bad products; it makes them not-free, which matters if free is what you searched for.

Taking card payments: every app charges for it

No driving instructor app can take card payments for free, because the card processor charges on every payment. So the useful questions are how much the charge is, who pays it, and whether it comes on top of a monthly fee. This is what each vendor's own pages said on 19 September 2026 (DriveSchoolPro: 14 September, as its site did not load on the 19th).

AppMonthly fee (qualified ADI)Charge on card paymentsWho pays it
PassReady£0One published booking fee: PassReady's 4.2% plus card processing, rounded up to the next whole poundThe pupil. On a £40 lesson they pay £43 and you receive £40.23
ADI Network£02% of the payment plus 30pYou or the pupil, as you choose
DriveSchoolPro£0 until 31 March 2027No commission; Stripe's standard processing fee appliesNot stated
GoRoadie Pro£17 after a 60-day trial1.9% when you request payment, or the Stripe fee when the pupil pays in the appYou, or the pupil if they pay in the app
DriveInstruct£10 after a 30-day trial2% platform fee on each paymentNot stated
Passly£14.99 after a 14-day trial1.5% on top of standard Stripe processingNot stated
MyDriveTime£19 after a 30-day trialNot published on its pricing or finance pagesNot published
Total Drive£18, or £23 with online bookingOptional in-app payments; the charge is not published (it says you receive 100% of the lesson price)Not published

If you take payments online, the monthly fee is only part of the cost. On most apps you pay the subscription and a charge on every card payment as well. PassReady has no monthly fee and puts its whole charge into one fee the pupil sees at checkout.

The catch that costs you exactly when you go full-time

The sharpest trap in this market is software that is free while you are a trainee (PDI) and starts charging a monthly subscription the moment you qualify as an ADI — that is, the day you go full-time and can least afford a new fixed cost. Total Drive (free until you pass Part 3 or for up to 12 months), MyDriveTime (free until you qualify), GoRoadie and LessonBuddy all give trainees free access, and that free access stops when you qualify or the time runs out. DriveInstruct is the clearest about it: its own guide states that genuinely free with no card “is really only on offer for trainee instructors,” and once you are a qualified ADI it charges £10 a month after a 30-day trial. That is an honest thing to say, and worth hearing: if a tool is free only while you train, budget for the subscription that lands the week you qualify. PassReady does not work this way — it is free for qualified ADIs and trainees alike, because the pupil funds it, not you.

Why free can be better than cheap

The instinctive worry is that free means worse: fewer features, no support, a tool that will vanish. Sometimes true. But a free platform funded only when you actually earn has its incentives pointed the right way: it makes money when it helps you take a booking. That tends to produce software that works hard to get you bookings, rather than software that works hard to keep you subscribed.

Compare that with a monthly subscription. You pay the same whether the tool got you ten pupils or none, whether you taught forty hours or were off sick. And where a subscription app offers online payments, a charge on card payments usually comes on top, and on many apps it comes out of the lesson price. Stripe's published UK rate alone is 1.5% + 20p per card payment. For a busy full-timer that stack of costs may still be a fair trade. For a part-timer, someone building up, or anyone with a seasonal dip, it is money out of the door in exactly the months you can least spare it.

What to check before you trust “free”

  1. Is it free forever, or free for now? Look for the word “trial” or an end date and read what happens after. A genuine free platform does not have a clock on it.
  2. What is behind the paywall? On a freemium tool, check whether payments, the pupil app and progress tracking are in the free tier or dangled above it.
  3. How does it make money? Every free tool is funded somehow. A published per-booking fee you can check is the healthiest answer; a margin we did not find published on routed work is workable but unverifiable; if you cannot see any funding model at all, be cautious about building your business on it.
  4. Who pays the card fees? If it takes online payments, find out whether processing costs come out of your lesson price or are covered elsewhere. On PassReady, processing is included in the pupil-paid booking fee — the instructor never absorbs a card fee.
  5. Can you get your data out? Free or paid, you should be able to export your pupils and records and leave. PassReady exports your records to CSV at any time. If a tool cannot do that, you do not really own your business.
  6. Does it keep MTD-ready records? Making Tax Digital is now live for sole traders over the threshold, and the first quarterly deadline has already passed. See the MTD deadline guide. Free software that ignores your tax records is a false economy.

We put free and paid side by side, with every price checked against the vendors' own pages, in the best driving instructor software in 2026, and make the full no-subscription case in driving instructor software with no monthly fee.

Free is not automatically good and paid is not automatically better. What matters is whether the tool's incentives line up with yours. A platform that publishes its funding model and only earns when a pupil books is about as aligned as software gets.

The bottom line

Two UK platforms charge qualified driving instructors no monthly fee, with no end date, in 2026: ADI Network, funded by a margin we did not find published on work it routes to you plus a 2% + 30p fee on card payments, and PassReady, funded by a published booking fee paid by the pupil. Whichever app you choose, taking card payments costs something on every one of them, so check who pays it. On a £40 lesson the pupil pays £43 and the instructor receives £40.23, and cash lessons go in the same diary free forever. Everything else calling itself free is a trial, a limited tier, or a promotion with an end date. Check the funding model, check who pays the card fees, check you can export your data, and pick the free whose maths you can actually see.

Paid more than you charge. £0 a month.

PassReady includes every feature at no monthly cost: bookings, payments, DVSA progress, MTD-ready records. No trial clock, no locked tier, and the funding model is published: a small booking fee paid by the pupil when they book online, with cash lessons kept in the same diary, free forever.

Start free
← More driving instructor guides