Looking for a MyDriveTime Alternative? Here's What to Consider
MyDriveTime is one of the most popular apps for UK driving instructors. But it's not the only option. Here's an honest comparison to help you decide.
First: what MyDriveTime does well
Let's start with credit where it's due. MyDriveTime has been around for a while, and a lot of instructors use it for good reason.
- The diary works. It's straightforward, it syncs across devices, and it does the core job of showing you where you need to be and when.
- Student records are decent. You can track pupil details, lesson notes, and test dates.
- It's purpose-built for driving instructors. Unlike generic booking platforms, it understands the specifics of how driving lessons work — travel time between pickups, lesson lengths, test prep.
- The pricing is published. MyDriveTime charges £19/month, a flat fee that doesn't change with usage.
If MyDriveTime is working well for you, there's no reason to switch just for the sake of it. Switching platforms is hassle, and "good enough" has real value.
Where instructors want more
That said, there are a few things MyDriveTime doesn't do that some instructors wish it did.
No card payments that we could find
This is the big one. MyDriveTime's own pages (checked 19 September 2026) show you whether a pupil has paid, but they don't mention taking card payments in the app. So students still pay separately — cash, bank transfer, or whatever arrangement you have. That means you're still chasing payments, still dealing with "I'll pay next week," and still eating the cost when someone no-shows on a lesson they haven't paid for.
For a lot of instructors, payment collection is the single most frustrating part of the job. A booking system that doesn't handle it solves half the problem but leaves the annoying half untouched.
No smart scheduling
MyDriveTime gives you a diary, and it can invite students to fill a slot when someone cancels. What we couldn't find on its pages is travel time between pickups built into the slots pupils can book. On PassReady, the times a pupil sees on your booking page already allow for the drive from your previous lesson, based on an estimate from the postcodes.
Progress and practice between lessons
Parents are paying £38 a lesson and most of them have no idea what their child is actually working on. MyDriveTime has a student app where pupils can follow their lessons and learning journey, and its lesson pages mention journey maps that students and parents can look at. What PassReady adds is a place for the practice in between: a pupil can add a parent or other supervisor, who sees the pupil's progress and logs private practice drives that you can see.
That's a missed opportunity. Parents who can see progress are more engaged, more patient, and less likely to pull their child out.
Monthly fee regardless of usage
At £19/month, you're paying £228/year whether you teach 5 lessons a week or 35. For a full-time instructor, that's fine. For someone who's part-time, just starting out, or winding down, it's a cost that doesn't scale with your business.
The feature comparison
| Feature | MyDriveTime | PassReady |
|---|---|---|
| Cost to instructor | £19/month | £0 |
| Booking fee | Not published | PassReady's 4.2% plus card processing, rounded up to the next whole pound, added on top and paid by the pupil |
| Online payments | Not mentioned on its pricing or finance pages | Yes (Stripe) |
| Prepaid booking | Not stated | Yes |
| Student booking page | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Diary / calendar | Yes | Yes (smart scheduling) |
| Student progress tracking | Pupil sees it in the student app | Pupil sees it; a parent or other supervisor they add can see it too and log practice drives |
| Cancellation enforcement | Manual | Automatic |
| Fleet management | Not stated | Yes |
| Established user base | Large | Growing |
| Contract / minimum term | Monthly | None |
What might keep you on MyDriveTime
A couple of honest reasons instructors stay put:
- It's been around longer. MyDriveTime has a larger community, more reviews, and a longer track record. PassReady is newer, and that matters to some people.
- You're already set up on it. Switching platforms means re-entering students, rebuilding your diary, and learning a new interface. If MyDriveTime is working, that hassle is a real cost — which is why trying PassReady alongside it (below) is the low-risk route.
One thing that shouldn't keep you there is worrying about fees. PassReady costs you £0 a month at any volume — the booking fee is added on top and paid by the pupil, so you receive at least your asking price on every online booking, usually slightly more, and cash lessons are logged free. There's no lesson count at which a subscription becomes cheaper than nothing.
When PassReady is the better choice
PassReady is better for you if:
- You want online payments. This is the headline difference. With card payments switched on, every online booking through PassReady is a paid booking. Students pay when they book. No chasing, no no-show losses, no awkward texts about money.
- You don't want a monthly bill. PassReady costs you £0 a month whether you teach 5 lessons a week or 35 — the booking fee is paid by the pupil, and cash or bank-transfer lessons are logged free.
- You want parent visibility. If your students' parents keep asking "what did you cover today?", your pupil can add them as a supervisor, and they can see the pupil's progress and log practice drives between lessons.
- You don't want a contract. No subscription means no cancellation. You can stop using it tomorrow with nothing to cancel and nothing to pay.
Trying PassReady costs nothing. There's no subscription and no contract, so you can run it alongside whatever you use today, send your booking link to a few new students, and see the difference in your no-show rate before you commit to anything.
What we'd honestly recommend
If you're happy with MyDriveTime but frustrated about payment collection, try PassReady alongside it. Use your PassReady booking link for new students and online bookings. Keep your existing diary if you want. See whether prepaid booking makes a difference to your no-show rate and your cash flow.
If you're not on any platform yet and you're trying to decide where to start, try the PassReady demo. It costs nothing to explore, and you'll know within five minutes whether it fits how you work.
And whatever your weekly volume, the cost comparison is the simple part: MyDriveTime is £228 a year out of your pocket; PassReady is £0, because the pupil pays the booking fee on top of your price. The rest of the decision is about features and feel — which is exactly what the demo shows you.
See how PassReady works
No signup needed. Have a look at the demo and decide if it's right for you.
View the demo